Gordon Research Conferences
Alexander M. Cruickshank Awards

The Board of Trustees of the Gordon Research Conferences established the Alexander M. Cruickshank Lectures to honor the many years of service to the organization by the former director, Dr. A.M. Cruickshank. Typically, there will be one such lectureship annually for each of the principal subdisciplines of the Conferences, namely the Biological, Chemical, and Physical sciences. At its discretion, the Board may occasionally elect additional Alexander M. Cruickshank lecturers. The Board has established a restricted fund to support the Alexander M. Cruickshank Lectures, and those wishing to make a contribution to this fund may do so by contacting the Gordon Research Conferences office.

2017 Lecturers

  • Sangeeta Bhatia, Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering
  • Liqun Luo, Neurotrophic Factors
  • David W.C. MacMillan, Natural Products and Bioactive Compounds
  • Jennifer Hoffman, Superconductivity
  • Ana Maria Rey, Atomic Physics

2016 Lecturers

  • Nieng Yan, Membrane Transport Proteins
  • Xiaowei Zhuang, Synaptic Transmission
  • Christopher J. Chang, Metals in Medicine
  • Mikhail Lukin, Quantum Science

2015 Lecturers

  • Karl Deisseroth, Amygdala in Health & Disease
  • David M. Sabatini, Lysosomal Diseases
  • Laura Kiessling, Carbohydrates
  • Gerbrand Ceder, Physical Metallurgy
  • Liang Fu, Superconductivity

2014 Lecturers

  • Kristi S. Anseth, Signal Transduction by Engineered Extracellular Matrices
  • Eric Gouaux, Ligand Recognition and Molecular Gating
  • Claudia Felser, Solid State Chemistry
  • Gregory C. Fu, Stereochemistry
  • Joanna Aizenberg, Biointerface Science

2013 Lecturers

  • Erin Schuman, Dendrites: Molecules, Structure & Function
  • Carolyn Bertozzi, High Throughput Chemistry & Chemical Biology
  • Immanuel Bloch, Atomic Physics

2012 Lecturers

  • Bonnie Bassler, Microbial Stress Response
  • Angela M. Belcher, Renewable Energy: Solar Fuels
  • Naomi Halas, Noble Metal Nanoparticles

2011 Lecturers

  • Erick Carreira, Organic Reactions & Processes
  • Sandra Louise Schmid, Cell-Cell Fusion
  • Paul Weiss, Clusters, Nanocrystals & Nanostructures

2010 Lecturers

  • Stanislas Dehaene, Neurobiology of Cognition
  • Jorge Galan, Microbial Toxins and Pathogenicity
  • Chad Mirkin, Noble Metal Nanoparticles
  • Alanna Schepartz, Biopolymers

2009 Lecturers

  • Titia de Lange, Chromosome Dynamics
  • Jonathan Weissman, Stress Proteins in Growth, Development and Disease
  • Stephen Bell, Archaea: Ecology, Metabolism & Molecular Biology
  • Tom Mallouk, Renewable Energy: Solar Fuels
  • Joseph DeSimone, Polymers

2008 Lecturers

  • Steven Block, Muscle & Molecular Motors
  • Daniel Nocera, Photosynthesis / Metals in Biology
  • Frances Arnold, Biocatalysis
  • Moungi Bawendi, Electrochemistry

2007 Lecturers

  • Christopher Walsh, Microbial Adhesion & Signal Transduction
  • Erin O'Shea, Cell Biology of Metals
  • David Wineland, Atomic Physics

2006 Lecturers

  • Mark Ratner, Electron Donor Acceptor Interactions
  • Roger Tsien, Phosphorylation & G-Protein Mediated Signaling Networks
  • George Whitesides, Oscillations & Dynamic Instabilities In Chemical Systems
  • Linda Buck, Molecular & Cellular Neurobiology

2005 Lecturers

  • Vicki Chandler, Epigenetics
  • Susan Lindquist, Proteins
  • Joanne Stubbe, Metals In Biology
  • Robert Grubbs, Organometallic Chemistry
  • R. Graham Cooks, Gaseous Ions: Structures, Energetics & Reactions

2004 Lecturers

  • Robert Horvitz, Molecular & Cellular Neurobiology
  • Joan Steitz, Post-Transcriptional Gene Regulation
  • Douglas Rees, Nitrogen Fixation
  • Sharon Hammes-Schiffer, Isotopes In Biological & Chemical Sciences

2003 Lecturers

  • Eric Wieschaus, Cell Contact & Adhesion
  • Rowena Matthews, Cobalamin
  • V. Ramanathan, Solar Radiation & Climate

2002 Lecturers

  • Gregory A. Petsko, Chemistry & Biology Of Tetrapyrroles
  • Richard Lifton, Magnesium In Biochemical Processes & Medicine
  • Elaine Fuchs, Signaling By Adhesion Receptors

2001 Lecturers

  • Christianne Nusslein-Volhard, Developmental Biology
  • Gregory L. Verdine, Mammalian DNA Repair
  • Eric Cornell, Atomic Physics

2000 Lecturers

  • Roderick MacKinnon, Ion Channels
  • Robert Lefkowitz, Second Messengers & Protein Phosphorylation
  • Alexandra Navrotsky, High Temperature Materials
  • William W. Mullins, Solid State Studies In Ceramics

1999 Lecturers

  • Christian Raetz, Lipids & Lipid Mediators
  • Helmut Beinert, Metals In Biology
  • Robert McKeown, Nuclear Physics

1998 Lecturers

  • Alice Gast, Colloidal, Macromolecular & Polyelectrolyte Solutions
  • Daniel Chemla, Electronic Processes In Organic Materials
  • Lily Jan, Cardiac Regulatory Mechanisms

1997 Lecturers

  • Wayne Hubbell, Ligand Recognition & Molecular Gating
  • James E. Rothman, Molecular Membrane Biology
  • Henry Taube, Inorganic Reaction Mechanisms
  • Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, Atomic Physics

1996 Lecturers

  • Judah Folkman, Peptide Growth Factors
  • Helmut Ringsdorf, Chemistry At Interfaces
  • Richard N. Zare, Bioanalytical Sensors

1995 Lecturers

  • W. Keith Hall, Catalysis
  • Judith P. Klinman, Quinone And Redox-Active Amino Acid Cofactors
  • Ruth Sager, Biology Of Aging
  • Richard Schrock, Organometallic Chemistry

1994 Lecturers

  • Sir Alan Battersby, Chemistry & Biology Of Tetrapyrroles
  • Donald Eigler, Chemistry & Physics Of Micro/Nano Structure Fabrication
  • Daniel E. Koshland, Jr., Bioorganic Chemistry
© 2017 Gordon Research Conferences Search | Contact | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Follow us: Facebook Twitter